Semester Wrap-Up

I turned in my last paper on Monday, and finished my last final exam today at 1:20 PM; the semester has now come to a close.

Classes begin again for me on Tuesday, however; I’m  taking a Mayterm class called “20th Century Poetry by the Book,” in which we’ll be reading:

  • Robert Frost, North of Boston
  • Wallace Stevens, Harmonium
  • W.B. Yeats, The Tower
  • W.H. Auden, Another Time
  • T.S. Eliot, Four Quartets
  • Gwendolyn Brooks, A Street in Bronzeville
  • Robert Lowell, For The Union Dead
  • Elizabeth Bishop, Geography III
  • Seamus Heaney, Seeing Things

All that in three weeks. Fun.

Of these poets, I’m well acquainted with Eliot, and moderately with Yeats, but I’ve only read a handful of poems by Frost, Stevens, Auden, Brooks, Bishop, and Heaney, and I don’t think I’ve ever read anything by Lowell. But it should be a good class: I love Eliot; really like Yeats, Stevens, and Auden; and I’m sure will come to appreciate Frost, Brooks, Bishop, Lowell, and Heaney. So, expect a lot (or, at least, a little) here about modernist poetry in the next few weeks.

After that class ends, I’ll be on break for a month and a half – three weeks of which will be spent out of town – during which I’ll be frantically trying to get ready to apply to graduate schools next semester and also reading a bunch of novels to try to get a sense of what I want to do for Senior Novel. My reading list so far is:

  • Vladimir Nabokov, Pale Fire
  • James Joyce, Ulysses
  • William Faulkner, Light in August
  • William Faulkner, Intruder in the Dust
  • Jorge Luis Borges, assorted short stories

And will almost certainly grow.

And then after that, I’m taking another summer class – American Literature, whose reading list I have not yet acquired. So, yeah. Busy summer.

I’m also going to be trying to write a 20-page paper about Hopkins and Eliot. And maybe writing a webcomic. Fun.

One Response to Semester Wrap-Up

  1. ~autolycus says:

    I must recommend Reif Larsen’s new book, ‘The Selected Works of T S Spivet’.

    http://www.amazon.com/Selected-Works-T-S-Spivet/dp/0143117351/

    It’s an interesting quest novel with a fascinating look at the scientific mind. It’s also a book which is sufficiently complex in semiotic content to feed part of a Master’s dissertation. You might have to look at Nick Bantock too, though.

