“Blogs”

Earlier today, The Daily Kraken, a blog I’ve read for the last few years written by a grad student at the University of Ottawa, linked to Inklings, a blog written by a friend of mine from school (though, bizarrely, I first met her online through that blog, then later met her in person). Since I list both in my Blogroll (over there to the right), I suspect that I was the source of the connection, though I could be wrong. Anyway, I’m taking this opportunity to link to both of them and say, “read! They’re interesting!” And often talk about things similar to those discussed on this very blog.

Incidentally, I used the word “blog” or a derivative thereof five times in the above paragraph, and was struck once again (I’ve noticed this before) by how hideous it is, even considering it’s a neologism. Why can we not use “journal” or something? Sigh… (Which is a funny looking word, though a fun one.)

2 Responses to “Blogs”

  1. Therese says:

    Especially hideous considering that it’s a shortcut for “web-log”. Cutting and splicing them to “blog” just sounds ghetto.

  2. e7th04sh says:

    Yeah, when blogs first became fashionable in Poland, i decided i don’t want to have anything in common with them, merely because the name sounds so hideous.

