Back to School

Break is over and the new semester starts tomorrow. (I already have homework though.) For some reason this break felt really short; I know it’s been almost five weeks, but I still think I ought to have a week or two more… ah well.

So how did I do in terms of my reading list from the beginning of break?

  • (finish reading) The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky – yes
  • The Devils by Fyodor Dostoevsky – yes
  • Seascape, Soulscape by Eugene Curtsinger (a book of literary criticism about Moby-Dick by a recently-deceased professor of literature at UD) – began it, but didn’t finish (yet)
  • The Confidence-Man by Herman Melville – no
  • Light in August by William Faulkner – kind of; instead I read his As I Lay Dying
  • also read Notes from Underground by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  • and The Moviegoer by Walker Percy
  • and Literary Theory: A Very Short Introduction as I try to get a handle on what I’ll need to know for the English subject GREs

so, I read six books and began a seventh, though they weren’t exactly the ones I planned on at the beginning of the semester… well, I’ll be reading The Confidence-Man for a class this semester anyway, and I’ll work my way through the Moby-Dick book as I re-read Moby-Dick itself. So everything I planned, I’ll have read by the end of the semester, except for probably Light in August. Which isn’t that bad, considering I didn’t get a chance to go to the library over break (meaning I own all of these books! Cool!)

What else did I accomplish over break? I got two more chapters written for one of secret projects, and began a short story before realizing I couldn’t go anywhere with it at about page 16. Hm. Not an overly productive break writing-wise.

Comments are closed.

