Blah

I apologize for lack of significant posts in the past few weeks. I’ve been quite busy/lazy. But finals end tomorrow afternoon, so I’ll have vast swaths of free time over the next month to read, write, blog, and not talk to people. It’ll be great.

I am thus trying to put together my reading list for Christmas break. Right now it consists of:

  • (finish reading) The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  • The Devils by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  • Seascape, Soulscape by Eugene Curtsinger (a book of literary criticism about Moby-Dick by a recently-deceased professor of literature at UD)
  • The Confidence-Man by Herman Melville
  • Light in August by William Faulkner

Anyone have any more suggestions? I won’t promise I’ll get to them, of course, since these few may very well get me through the break, depending on how quickly I read.

Also, I figure I’ll announce the classes I’m taking next semester, given they’ve actually already shown up in this post:

  • Early Modern Literature
  • Special Topics: Moby-Dick
  • Faulkner’s Vision (hence Light in August, or whichever other Faulkner book I decide to pick up)
  • Analyis II
  • Intermediate German II
5 Responses to Blah

  1. e7th04sh says:

    I do. I can always recommend something polish.

    If you can find time to read “The Shoemakers”, a play by Stanisław Ignacy Witkiewicz, might also be knows as Witkacy. According to wikipedia it’s available in english as part of some “The Mother & Other Unsavoury Plays, Applause, 1993”, perhaps antology.

    This piece is experimenting with language. And seeing how those things are never easy to translate, part of the beauty might be lost. Anyways this is generally a very weird to read, especially at first. It’s about society, revolutions and upcoming catastrophie. Witkacy wrote this in late 30’s when fascism and communism were prevalent and you could already predict there is no happy end to it. Witkacy commited suicide on 18th of September, pressumably upon hearing the news of Soviet backstab that happened a day earlier.

    I really hope i got you at least somewhat interested and am looking forward to reading a full blown review note! :P It’s just a candy for me, to read what a foreigner (to me) thinks about something polish, cause i have problems aproaching it without prejudice.

    Anyways, quite a Dostoyevskish readingschedule recently. I value his concepts, the world that seems like a mixture of fairy tale and reality. Because there are typical tale concepts, good evil crime punishment redemption choice. But then, characters and the world itself are real, maybe a bit overdrawn.

    On the other hand i hate the length of his books, i am too impatient. Guess that can’t be helped.

  2. Yeah, I’ll add it to the list, if I can find a copy of it – unfortunately my hometown library is not that great, so I might not be able to.

    It is a very Dostoevskian reading list atm; it’s mainly because several friends of mine took a Russian Novel class this semester and I don’t like having to listen to people talk about books I haven’t read. His books do tend to be really long, though that doesn’t bug me (I don’t mind length in books, though I certainly do in poetry – poetry is all about brevity). My main complaint with Dostoevsky is his style and how he constructs his novels – it seems really haphazard.

  3. e7 says:

    It’s available at the Library of Congress, tough i doubt You’d take a trip there for that one book.

    Wory not, i shall find one in Texas! :D

  4. e7 says:

    BTW, have you read “Poker without Cards”? I just spent a night reading the ebook, and i found firt half of the book quite interesting. Tough what keeps me reading for that long is expect that the best part will come otward the end.

  5. Never heard of it, actually. But I just looked it up on Amazon and it sounds interesting.

