Miscellaneous

Things that have happened in the last week:

  • I registered for classes next semester. Unfortunately the professor who does the Tolkien class (scheduled for the fall of odd-numbered years) is going on sabbatical, so it’s not going to happen, probably. Hopefully he’ll run it in the spring or something.
  • I got my housing situation for next semester in order. This involved a helluvalot of last-minute running around, and I actually had to lose six credits in order to no longer have senior status so that I can live in the student apartments here. Which means I no longer have credit for the Chemistry AP. Which is fine by me, I don’t know chemistry anyway.
  • I spent the longest amount of time I have ever took to complete a mathematics homework assignment – I probably spent ten hours on it in total. But it was actually three assignments rolled into one.
  • I had a philosophy exam yesterday, in which I wrote about contingency, God, and (as always) actuality and potentiality. Though only the first two were part of the stated prompt. It seems like every essay I write for this class comes back to actuality an potentiality.
  • I turned in an excerpt from the short story I’m writing for my Lit Trad class and had it critiqued. Here’s a sample, the first 35 or so words of the story:

    Stream of Life

    (X)(G) – Sorcery – Target player gains X life.

    Beep beep beep beep. Beep beep beep beep. Beep beep beep beep. Beep beep beep beep. Beep beep beep beep. Beep beep beep beep. Beep beep beep beep.

    Yeah, it’s kind of weird. People liked it though, for the most part. Not many people got the Magic: The Gathering reference though.

Anyway, this is why I haven’t been posting much recently (and this post itself is hardly a real post either). But I’m hoping to have more pretentious essays about life, the universe, and everything for you come this weekend. Probably I’ll try to have a review of No Country for Old Men, the book, which I finished last week as well.

Comments are closed.

