April Fools

Today is April first, traditionally April Fools Day. But I’m not going to pull a prank on you. Probably.

But April is the month of fools because of this Biblical quotation:

The land of a certain rich man brought forth abundant crops. And he began to take thought within himself, saying, ‘What shall I do, for I have no room to store my crops?’ And he said, ‘I will do this: I will pull down my barns and build larger ones, and there I will store up all my grain and my goods. And I will say to my soul, Soul, thou hast many good things laid up for many years; take thy ease, eat, drink, be merry.’ But God said to him, ‘Thou fool, this night do they demand thy soul of thee; and the things that thou hast provided, whose will they be?’ So is he who lays up treasure for himself, and is not rich as regards God.

I find all of the New Testament references to fools fascinating  – foolishness  of God versus wisdom of  man, etc. But this one is relevant because this month, I have to do a lot of planning. I’m going to have to “pull down my barns and build larger ones”, because registration for next semester is next week, I need to figure out where I’m going to live next year (hopefully an apartment, but I have to actually get one and sign the lease), I have to make sure I’ll actually have money for next year… oh, and I also have a lot more schoolwork this month than last, which I have to do if I want to pass my classes. So I’m having to focus a lot on providing for the material future. Not so much on providing for my spiritual or social futures… ah well.

What Orbivm character does this remind me of? One who doesn’t actually have a campaign, but perhaps should – Primus Maximus, first emperor of Lavinia. He spent his entire life running around conquering other nations, expanding Lavinia’s territory, “building larger barns” – and then he died on the battlefield against the Sidhe and never had years of peace to enjoy his conquests. He was probably happier conquering than ruling anyway, though. Historically he’s somewhat similar to Julius Caesar; he’s a famous painting of the Gauls surrendering to him.

Comments are closed.

