Code Geass

I recently finished watching the anime Code Geass (only the second anime I’ve watched, after Death Note). My reaction was… mixed. I have a lot of complaints with it (I hate the anime style of animation, the school half was dumb – the series is about a high-schooler named Lelouch who is also leading a rebellion, and the parts at the school are stupid – and I found some of the events in the main plot somewhat unbelievable). But overall I thought it was good, worth watching if you have nothing better to do with 20 hours of your life (about how long it will take to watch all 50 of the 24-minute-long episodes).

The most interesting part was the ending… but I’m not sure what to make of the ending yet. I won’t spoil it for you, but I will say it was well done and succeeded at surprising me. But I’m not sure I agree with the reasoning behind Lelouch’s actions. *shrug*

Anyway, if anyone reading this is really into anime, any suggestions for more anime series I would like, given that I found Death Note more interesting than Code Geass and my main problem with most animes is their immature sense of humor and poor quality of animation?

Incidentally, Wesnoth 1.6 has been released. This is the newest stable release, it has some new campaigns and much better graphics, go try it out. And download the Imperial Era and the associated campaigns as well from the add-on server – you know you want to.

2 Responses to Code Geass

  1. Stephen Wang says:

    I wonder if you’d like Spice & Wolf. It’s totally different from Death Note and Code Geass, but it’s also a more “mature” anime–and perhaps more so. The first season is twelve episodes (second season coming out this summer?), and it’s set in the late middle ages/early renaissance or so, with a traveling merchant as the main n character. It’s not really “intense” like the two you’ve seen, but it still has some “action,” just the action mostly consists of outsmarting others in medieval economics and stuff..

    Oh, and the main character is voiced by Lelouch’s voice actor.

  2. Nick Kerpan says:

    Haibane Renmei

    There’s also Liar’s Game (though I think it may just be a manga, and a life action TV show…come to think of it)

