Resolutions (January)

I’ve never really been into New Year’s resolutions. They seem stupid. There’s no reason to wait for the new year to try to improve yourself.

But this year I have some, kinda. I’m going to make some modifications to my social persona – mainly because the new year is between semesters, and it’s easier to change how you interact socially with people suddenly after not seeing them for a while than to gradually do it over the course of a semester. I’m not doing it because it’s the new year, but still, I guess I count as one of the many people making New Year’s resolutions.

This somewhat reminds me of the Orbivm character Vaniyera, the hero of his eponymous Epic and one of the villains in both the Fall of Silvia and Alfhelm the Wise. His life story is, basically, he is young, rash, impetuous, and makes mistakes (sort of), he is assigned to a new teacher, he reforms (sort of), then gets killed by Alfhelm. The basic connection is in the “reforms (sort of)” part. How Vaniyera changes is, well, open to debate, but he definitely does change, and intentionally.

I am also reminded of the Picture of Dorian Gray, and how, near the end, he promises to himself he will reform, but that promise ends up leading to his, uh, I guess suicide. Fun. Maybe you can’t try to reform yourself morally.

Comments are closed.

