Afaron (February)

It’s strange – this month, I am, well, not overworked, but actually worked. I actually have stuff I have to do for school, and some stuff I’m trying to get done on my own (not for Orbivm), and I really don’t have a whole lot of free time to continue writing FFF like I wanted to or work on FE art.

And some of my time, of course, is spent writing this blog. Whatever.

The situation reminds me of my Econ class, the main lesson of which so far seems to be “people have limited resources”. Um, that’s obvious. Mine right now is time, usually it’s energy to actually do anything.

Though, I find that usually I alternate between thinking I have too much to do and not enough to do – right before I do my homework I’ll think to myself, this is way too much, I won’t have any free time tonight, and then I’ll be done half an hour later and think, what am I supposed to do with all of this time? And because I didn’t expect to have it, I usually waste it. But I can’t do outside work before homework because I’ll be thinking about my homework and how I have to go do it. I think that’s probably why I usually don’t get stuff done except during holidays.

Anyway, last month I was Jugarthus Massaesylus, comrade of Caius Regilius last Tribune of Silvium. This month… who? Since I haven’t written my Inferno essay yet, I feel pressed for time – I’d better decide soon.

Well, I noticed today another (accidental?) literary reference in Orbivm –  the cosmological set-up is actually rather similar to that of Dante’s Divine Comedy, with the Garden of Eden located on an island across the ocean from the main continent. And in Canto XXVI Ulysses is revealed to have journeyed across the ocean to Mount Purgatory (location of the Garden of Eden) and there been destroyed. That’s similar in many ways to Tolkien’s story of Ar-Pharazon the Golden, who sailed from Numenor to Valinor and punished for it (I suspect Tolkien read Dante – probably some influence there; really, every work of literature is so interconnected it’s quite hard to discern what idea comes from where). And like I’ve said before, the story of Ar-Pharazon inspired my own story of Afaron, last king of Evrosia, who tries to do what Ar-Pharazon did but with somewhat different results.

So for that reason, if no other, I’ll be Afaron. Seems fitting somehow.

Comments are closed.

